It’s easy to make pizza!

I often wonder why people buy frozen pizzas at the supermarket. I’ve tried many a brand – we either ate Pizza Hut pizza or frozen pizzas growing up – and have yet to find one that I really enjoy. I love going out for a good wood-fired thin crust pizza with simple toppings but what to do at home?

Years ago, my friends invited me over to their place and told me that we were going to make pizza. From scratch! I thought, how crazy!? I imagined it would be an arduous process making the dough…where I would arrive at 6pm and we wouldn’t be able to eat until 10pm. I was imagining a very cranky self. However, much to my surprise, the dough was delicious and it was super easy to make. The recipe uses yeast so the rise time can be quite short. In fact, the time that it takes to prepare your toppings is just enough for the dough to rise. I like to use a standard cookie sheet to spread the dough out on, so that I get somewhat of a thinner crust. It freezes great, so often we’ll make a pizza and have a few slices to freeze for a quick lunch another day.

Pizza with German and hot Genoa salami, spinach, snow peas, beans, and St-Albert cheese
Pizza with German and hot Genoa salami, spinach, snow peas, beans, and St-Albert cheese

Pizza dough recipe:

  • 1 cup warm water (about 45 degrees Celsius)
  • 1T sugar
  • 2.25t yeast
  • 3T olive oil
  • 1t salt
  • 2.5 cups flour (can use all-purpose or multigrain)
  • 1T italian seasoning
  1. Preheat oven to 400F.
  2. Stir water, sugar, and yeast together until dissolved. Add italian seasoning. Tip: Mix everything together in a 2 cup measuring cup (measure and mix in one vessel).
  3. Add in oil and salt. Place in a mixing bowl.
  4. Stir in the flour and blend well.
  5. Cover with a warm wrung tea towel and let rest for at least 10 minutes. Tip: Perfect time to prep all of your pizza toppings while the dough rests.
  6. Stretch dough out to desired shape. Fold the crust back over itself at the edges if you have excess dough.
  7. Dress the dough with toppings.
  8. Bake pizza until crust browns and pulls away from the edge of the pan (about 10-20 minutes).
  9. Enjoy! Tip: Cut the pizza with scissors. It’s so much easier than using a pizza cutter.
Leave a note

