Stimulating Saturdays: What is food security?

Compared to so many people around the world, I am lucky that I do not have to legitimately worry about where I will get food to feed myself and my family today or tomorrow. As I read more and more about the global food system, alternative food systems, and resource distribution, I’m learning that there is definitely enough food being produced around the world to feed everyone. This is illustrated by dividing the amount of current worldwide food production by the number of people around the world. However, food insecurity (or food security) is a huge issue in every single country, no matter how rich the country is overall. Reminds me of the saying, “you’re only as strong as your weakest link”.

Here is a great short and simple video explaining what food security is:

Leave a note

