My go-to meal: spinach and egg

I think I’m not alone when I say that for a quick meal, the same few dishes always pop into mind. One of my go-to meals – quick, easy, and fairly healthy – is a spinach and egg dish. My mom would make it every so often and I really enjoy it…but I don’t know what it’s called. Go figure. Anyways. It’s kinda like having spinach with scrambled eggs, all mixed together, and with a Japanese flavouring.

Saute the spinach
Saute the spinach
Once the spinach has mostly cooked, crack eggs and mix with spinach.
Once the spinach has mostly cooked, crack eggs and mix with spinach.

Once you crack the eggs in, you can add the seasonings: some dashi and soy sauce, to taste. You have to be careful about the amount of dashi you add; too much will make the dish taste too fishy. Same thing with the soy sauce; adding too much will make it way too salty.

Serve with rice
Serve with rice

And voila, 10-15 minutes later, you’re done!

What’s your no-fuss foolproof go-to meal?

Leave a note

