Neat Business Idea for Urban Farming

I recently came across the Vancouver Urban Farming Society, which officially formed in April 2012 to unite people and organizations in BC who have an interest in urban farming. The website showcases urban farms in BC with short descriptions of each as well as photos.

Through their website, I found a small business in Vancouver called Inner City Farms that uses residential spaces to grow a wide variety of veggies with a focus on heirloom and open-pollinated veggies (organic practices). They sell their harvest primarily through the CSA model and their website explains that part of the share price goes toward supporting food security initiatives; it’s a good idea, making a contribution towards addressing the socioeconomic barriers around access to fresh, local foods and the point that the CSA model is catered towards the middle class.

The site also provides an index of veggies that they produce, which is great for folks switching from supermarkets to a CSA share as they may not recognize some of the veggies that appear week-to-week in their box. Their website is informative but their blog is great as it includes not only photos of the content of each CSA box but also a melange of posts on local events, recipes, and updates on the food security initiatives they support.

As a side note, I learned that the spiky green cauliflower-variant that I’ve seen in my CSA box is called a Romanesco broccoli or cauliflower; if I had seen it at the market, I probably never would’ve picked it up to try but because it came in my box, I gave it a whirl and I absolutely love it! Think broccoli but crunchier (super crunchy even after cooking)!

Anyways, I thought that Inner City Farms is an interesting option to complement community gardening networks, which work with private landowners to provide access to those who want a community garden plot.  A neat business idea for urban farmers.

2 thoughts on “Neat Business Idea for Urban Farming

  1. I was actually a little surprised that Ottawa doesn’t really have much in the way of urban farming – different city than Vancouver I know, but still surprised. I think its great for communities and neighbourhoods to use their space to grow food. Since moving from Vancouver to Ottawa last year, we’ve devoted a good chunk of our yard space for growing food and I’d really like to see more of it here in Ottawa.
    And just to add, I was actually involved in the initial planning stages for the Vancouver Urban Farmers and I’m familiar with many of them. I’m glad to see that many of their ideas and goals have come to fruition.

    1. Wow that’s really neat that you were involved in the early stages! There’s a lot of interest in Ottawa for community gardening plots and there are a few farms skirting the city but there’s a lot of potential to be unearthed!

Leave a note

