A trip to PEI isn’t complete without some seafood

The east coast is known for its mouth-watering seafood.  I’m not one to experience cravings for seafood but I had to try something, and what better place to start than with lobster.

Mmmmmm mussels!
Lobster dinner and scallop dinner

Well, in reality, I’ve previously only had lobster twice in my life and that’s twice in the last 2 years.  I never really enjoyed it because it tastes really fishy and I don’t have enough patience to get the meat out of the shell.  Nonetheless, I tried a lobster dinner at Water Prince Corner Shop (141 Water Street).  The place has a nice patio outside and a cute dining area inside.  I’m told that a line-up isn’t unusual for this restaurant, so reservations are recommended.  You can choose the size of lobster you’d like to eat, but it’s best to keep in mind that the lobster dinner includes one whole lobster, potato salad, and a whole mixing bowl full of delicious mussels!  Best to bring an appetite or a friend.  The mussels were delicious, the potato salad was delicious, and the lobster was likely delicious…except that I still found this fresh lobster fishy (but this is my own personal taste…not a generalization).  Their scallop dinner, on the other hand, was just okay; there were about 7 rather small scallops, some cold fries, and over-blanched green/yellow beans.

This place is conveniently located, just a stone’s throw away from the Visitor Information Center at Founders’ Hall and Peake’s Wharf.

Leave a note

